New cluster might be declared soon

Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas

KUCHING: A new Covid-19 cluster has emerged in the state as a result of social gathering involving illegal cockfighting activities.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said the cluster involves some 50 Covid-19 cases at a longhouse in his Bukit Saban constituency, adding that the cluster has yet to be declared by the Health Department.

“It is not reported today (Monday), but I was told by a doctor that 50 persons were infected due to social gathering involving cockfighting activities. We are urging the people to comply with the standard operating procedures (SOPs) to keep themselves safe and remember to value their life as well as health.

“I do not understand why there are people who are not afraid. The situation in Sarawak is still not stable, the number of cases recorded continues to be in three digits and there are only 13 districts which are green zones,” he said. 

Uggah added that there are several clusters in the state that emerged from social gatherings despite them being prohibited.

On another note, Uggah revealed that the Sarawak Health Department has declared the end of the Bedayan Cluster in Serian district as there were no new cases recorded within the last 28 days after the last one was detected.

He also stated that Tatau district in Bintulu division is now a green zone after no local infection cases were recorded in the district in the last two weeks.

“Mukah district has turned yellow after one local infection case was recorded on Monday (Mar 1) while Selangau district is now a red zone after 41 local infection cases were recorded in the last 14 days.

“Kanowit, Betong, Meradong, Kuching, Samarahan, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu remain as red zones with 2,542 local infection cases reported in the last 14 days. The districts that remain orange are Julau, Subis, Bau, Bukit Mabong, Dalat and Sri Aman after 179 local infection cases were reported,” he said.

He added that Pusa, Song, Asajaya, Beluru, Sarikei, Lundu, Saratok, Sebauh, Serian and Belaga also remain their yellow statuses with 90 local infection cases recorded in the last 14 days.