KPK teams celebrate after the competition.

MIRI: Rastation emerged champions of the Open category at the Sarawak Paintball League (SPL) 2020.

The first runners-up were GPP Waxers followed respectively by Beez Waxers and Kidurong Paintball Club. For the Novice category, Chaos Bandits won first place while Kidurong Paintball Club 2 were second. Bossku Waxers and The Joros finished third and fourth respectively.

BHP Warriors won the Rookie category ahead of Jr Waxers, Pyro Star and KPL respectively.
A total of 28 teams from Sabah, Malaya and Brunei took part in the league in Miri from March 7 to 8.

Organised by Mambong Paintball Club, the competition offered a total of RM12,000 cash prizes.

The club hoped to promote the sport throughout the state.

According to its president Muhammad Morsidi Abdullah, this year’s competition gave local teams the opportunity to compete with experienced teams and players from Malaya and Brunei.

“We will organise another competition on April 18 to 19 in conjunction with the Police Day at SMK St Thomas, Kuching.

“I hope to see more participation from government and non-government agencies as well as the public,” he said.

He said the club hoped to promote interest on paintball in the state as well as throughout Borneo so that the region would not be left behind compared to teams in Malaya.

“Paintball can also prevent youths from getting involved in negative social activities like alcohol and drug addiction,” he added.

Kidurong Paintball Club (KPK) president Johnson Lee said he was proud of the achievement of KPK teams all of which comprised Sarawakian players.

“This proved that local players can compete with outside teams,” he said.