Route and schedules for city’s electric bus service

The Kuching Metro Electricity Bus. Photo: Ramidi Subari

KUCHING: Starting tomorrow, locals and tourists will have a new way to travel to popular locations around town using the just-launched Kuching Metro Electric City Bus service.

The four buses will operate on a specific route and have the capacity of 26 seated passengers and 26 standing.

The daily schedule will begin at 6am from the main stop at the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) building in Petra Jaya as well as the Semenggoh Wildlife Centre.

One bus starts from the DUN building while the other starts from Semenggoh at 6am followed by the other two buses starting at 8am.

The buses will stop at each of the 107 stops (inbound and outbound) along the route until 4pm with each journey lasting two hours – a total of six journeys per day.

Among the stops along the Electric City Bus service are the Darul Hana Bridge, Chinese History Museum, Kuching Waterfront, Jalan Abell, Padungan, Ang Cheng Ho, Kuching South City Council (MBKS), iCom Square, Jalan Pending, MBKS Recreational Park, SJK(C) Chung Hua No 3, Jalan Central Timur, Jalan Ban Hock, The Hills, Riverside Majestic Hotel, Main Bazaar, Kuching Post Office, Sarawak Museum, Wisma Satok, Al-Idrus Commercial Centre, Wisma ASSAR, Satok Bridge, Jalan Kulas, and Jalan Haji Taha.

This route passes all heritage areas in Kuching up until the Semenggoh Wildlife Centre and also the Kuching International Airport.