Sugar AP holders finally revealed

Tan Kai

KUCHING: The Approved Permit (AP) holders for the import of sugar in Sarawak have been revealed after five months and 13 press statements.  

Since June this year, political secretary to the Chief Minister, Tan Kai has been requesting the Federal Deputy Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Chong Chieng Jen to reveal the AP holders.

“At that time, Chong announced that there were eight companies which had been granted the APs and this revelation was made for the convenience of the people so that the prices of the products produced by the companies could be monitored.

Tan Kai

“However, Chong was secretive and refused to reveal the names. This is against the fair and transparent governance as preached by the Pakatan Harapan (PH) government,” he told New Sarawak Tribune yesterday.

However, on Dec 6, Bandar Kuching MP Dr Kelvin Yii Lee Wuen revealed the names of the AP holders on his Facebook page.

“This shows that Dr Yii also agrees with the necessity to reveal the names of AP holders for the common interest of the rakyat (people),” Tan added.

He continued, “According to Chong, the purpose of approving the APs for sugar imports is to reduce the cost of manufacturing, so now is the time for the people to monitor the products’ prices, whether this so-called liberalisation policy is going to benefit the rakyat or the manufacturers only.”

The number of companies has increased to 11 and they are as follows:

1. Sunshine Food Manufacture Co. Sdn Bhd

2. Dahfa Foods Manufacturng Sdn Bhd

3. Sundrop Fruit Juices Sdn Bhd

4. KNG LAK (E.M.) Sdn Bhd

5. Alwi Food & Beverages Industies Sdn Bhd

6. Ta Yung Food Industries Sdn Bhd

7. Stampin Confectionnary Sdn Bhd

8. Foodtake Industries Sdn Bhd

9. Kit Hin Company Sdn Bhd

10. F & N Sarawak

11. Teck Lee Seng Coffee Product